Register :: Log in :: Profile :: Mail   
The Upcoming Texas Elections

Home // Other Parties

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message

Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:41 am    Post subject: The Upcoming Texas Elections Reply with quote
The analysts across the country are waiting to see whether the seat of Texas 22 nd Congressional District returns to the Republicans or stays with the Democrats. The district known for its heavy republican stronghold saw the passage of power to a Democrat in the recent elections. The region which is represented by a Democrat, Nick Lampson, currently is going for another election in November 2008. Lampson is standing for a re-election in 2008. Along with Lampson, there are many known names standing for election. This includes former Sugar Land mayor Dean Hrbacek, former Pasadena mayor John Manlove, former John Cornyn Chief of Staff Pete Olson, Family District Judge Jim Squier, State Representative Bob Talton, and NASA contractor Ryan Rowley.

In the last elections, the district witnessed Republican House majority Leader Tom DeLay resign after being indicted and subsequently win the Republican primary. Because of Texas state law (and court rulings interpreting it), Republicans, in order to hold onto the seat, had to win a write-in campaign, something that has only been done four other times in the history of U.S. Congressional elections. This led to the holding of two elections in the district last year.

The 22nd had long been considered a solidly Republican district, with a Cook Partisan Voting Index of R+15. A Democratic presidential candidate had not carried the district since Lyndon B. Johnson defeated Barry Goldwater in the 1964 election. This constituency is known to have played a major role in voting George W. Bush over John Kerry by a 2 to 1 (66%-33%) margin, more than any other district that fell to the Democrats in 2006.

Conservative columnist Robert Novak wrote in May 2007 that he believes there are at least a few House seats that were won by Democrats in 2006 ‘solely because of GOP corruption,’ and that such seats would be ‘the most likely to return to the Republican column in 2008.’
Back to top

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Quick Reply    LVC Home // Other Parties All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Add to My Yahoo!

Politics Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Political Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory Top Blog Sites