Register :: Log in :: Profile :: Mail   
can someone explain eternity/infinfity to me?

Home // Evolution Versus Creationism

Vinces

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: can someone explain eternity/infinfity to me? Reply with quote
I cannot grasp it. Has there always been matter? I cannot understand that here is no beggining. I can almost understand no end but no beggining?

Does space really go on forever? I guess it must because it can't just stop somewhere. Did you ever think that if space is infinite that even light waves will never reach the end of it. So even a beam of light travelling FOREVER will not get to the end of space??? So there is an infinite amount of space that will never see light....
Toxic
Forum Elder
Forum Elder

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
The idea isn't that the universe is infinite, it's that it's expanding infinitely. This is a topic I'm relatively new to as well so I can't really provide any links. Hopefully someone else knows a basic resource about it that they could link us to.
exton
Forum Elder
Forum Elder

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:15 am    Post subject: Re: can someone explain eternity/infinfity to me? Reply with quote
Vinces wrote:
I cannot grasp it. Has there always been matter?

No one knows. The best answer at the moment is "probably not".

Quote:
I cannot understand that here is no beggining. I can almost understand no end but no beggining?

The simplest answer is, there was probably a begining to space and time. But no one really knows.

The tricky thing is when people start talking about this in the context of causality; that is, "well, the universe has a begining, so obviously someone caused it!"

It's not really that simple when you're talking about space and time themselves; that sort of thinking only works when you already have space and time to work with.

Quote:

Does space really go on forever? I guess it must because it can't just stop somewhere.