Register :: Log in :: Profile :: Mail   
2006 Elections: Switching of Seats

Home // Other Parties

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:49 am    Post subject: 2006 Elections: Switching of Seats Reply with quote
The year of 2006 was a landmark year which saw the reversal of power in many important races. Elections for the United States House of Representatives were held on November 7, 2006, with all of the 435 seats in the House up for election. On Election Day, Democrats gained 31 seats in the House, enough to take control, and Republicans became the minority party after 12 years of control. In one runoff in Louisiana, a Democratic incumbent defeated a Democratic challenger. In a runoff in Texas, a Democratic challenger defeated a Republican incumbent. Thirty Republican seats were picked up by Democrats, and one seat held by an independent was picked up by a Democrat. No Democratic seats were picked up by Republicans. This marked the first time since 1948 that a party did not lose any of its seats.

The Texas 22nd Congressional Election of 2006 saw the dethroning of the House Majority Tom DeLay, a prominent member of the Republican Party who resigned in 2006 after being indicted and subsequently winning the Republican primary. To fill in the seat vacated by DeLay, a special election was held for the remaining term of DeLay. That was also an uncommon event. It was simultaneously followed by the regular general elections. In the special election there were five candidates: four Republicans: Shelley Sekula-Gibbs, Don Richardson, former US Representative Steve Stockman and Giannibecego Hoa Tran, and one Libertarian, Bob Smither. The Democrats were not represented with a candidate. Sekula-Gibbs won that race with approximately 63 percent of the vote and was sworn in as a Member of Congress on November 13, 2006.

In the general election there were three main candidates. Democrat and former US Representative Nick Lampson, Libertarian Party candidate Bob Smither, and Republican Sekula-Gibbs. Only Lampson's and Smither's names appeared on the ballot, as Shelley Sekula-Gibbs had to run as a write-in candidate. In this race, Lampson captured 52% of the vote, to Sekula-Gibbs' 42%, and Smither collected 6%. Lampson is standing for a re-election in 2008. Along with Lampson, there are many known names standing for election. This includes former Sugar Land mayor Dean Hrbacek , former Pasadena mayor John Manlove, former John Cornyn Chief of Staff Pete Olson, Family District Judge Jim Squier, State Representative Bob Talton, and NASA contractor Ryan Rowley.
Back to top
Forum Elder
Forum Elder

Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 3289

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
get ready for the next midterm
There will be a record turn out for independent seats
Back to top

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Quick Reply    LVC Home // Other Parties All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Add to My Yahoo!

Politics Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Political Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory Top Blog Sites